APPEG AGM 2nd March 2022

All Party Parliamentary Engineering Group

Minutes of the APPEG annual General Meeting 2022 Wednesday 2nd March 2022 – Room W2, House of Commons



Laurence Robertson MP (in the chair)

Professor the Lord Mair

Viscount Hanworth

Stephen Metcalfe MP

Lord Ravensdale


  1. Chair’s opening remarks

Laurence Robertson welcomed members to the meeting and thanked members for attending.

  • Apologies

Dave Doogan MP, Chi Onwurah MP and Chris Green MP

  • Election of Officers

The Co-Chairs, Laurence Robertson MP and Professor the Lord Mair were re-elected proposed by Viscount Hanworth and seconded by Lord Ravensdale.   

The Officers were proposed by Professor the Lord Mair and seconded by Laurence Robertson MP:

Lord Ravensdale, Chi Onwurah MP, Chris Green MP, Stephen Metcalfe MP, Dave Doogan MP and Viscount Hanworth

  • Report on year’s activities

There have been three meetings during the year, two virtual and one lunch in the Lords. 

There had been a waiting list for both events in the Lords with 14 schools participating and the list continues to grow

There was a general discussion on the quality of the speakers and their engagement with the young attendees

Future topics for the meetings were discussed

  • Statement of Accounts

The figures were presented and agreed by the meeting

  • AOB

It was agreed that the Houses of Parliament safeguarding policy be adopted by the Group and displayed on the website.

Lord Mair agreed to be the responsible peer, given that the Group’s meetings take place in the House of Lords

The Chair thanked the members and Secretariat for their support and closed the meeting

Signed . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .

Laurence Robertson MP

Laurence Robertson thanked the members and the Secretariat for their support.

Signed:      ……………………………………………………………….

Laurence Robertson MP